Members

Membership

According to federal guidelines (45 CFR, part 46), HSRB membership must include at least five members with various backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research. At a minimum, one member must be an individual whose primary research is scientific, one member must be an individual whose research is non-scientific, and at least one member must have no affiliation with Roger Williams. Additional members should represent more than a single area or profession. As such, the Roger Williams University Human Subjects Review Board (HSRB) is currently composed of eight individuals from the RWU faculty and administration and one member from outside of the University. Membership beyond the minimum requirement at RWU is a function of our diverse research community and is necessary to accommodate the amount of work associated with reviewing a considerable number of applications. Board terms for each member appear next to name.

Responsibilities of the Director

  • review and oversight of all research proposals submitted to HSRB;
  • lead the process of developing and refining Board guidelines and processes;
  • communicate to the faculty changes in guidelines as well as meeting times and Board rulings;
  • schedule and chair meetings;
  • maintain the information on the website; 
  • maintain all HSRB records and archives;
  • ensure University compliance is up-to-date at all levels.

Director

Becky Spritz (8/24/2019 - )
Assistant Dean, Feinstein School of Social and Natural Sciences
401-254-3664
bspritz@rwu.edu

Committee Members

Selby Conrad (7/1/2018 - 6/30/2021 - on leave Fall 2019 semester)
Assistant Professor, Psychology
401-254-5501
sconrad@rwu.edu

Farbod Farhadi (7/1/2017 - 6/30/2020)
Assistant Professor, Management
401-254-5668
ffarhadi@rwu.edu

Kathleen Micken (7/1/2018 - 6/30/2021)
Professor, Marketing
401-254-3139
kmicken@rwu.edu

Jeffrey Renzi (1/2/2019-6/30/2022)
Associate Director of Planning and Research
Rhode Island Department of Corrections
401-462-0373
jeffceleste@cox.net

Amiee Shelton (7/1/2019 - 6/30/2022)
Professor, Public Relations
401-254-3277
ashelton@rwu.edu

Erin Tooley (7/1/2019 - 6/30/2022)
Assistant Professor, Psychology
401-254-3506
etooley@rwu.edu

Ann G. Winfield (7/1/2017 - 6/30/2020)
Associate Professor, Education
401-254-5667
awinfield@rwu.edu

Susan M. Bosco
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Professor of Management 
401-254-3175
sbosco@rwu.edu