According to federal guidelines (45 CFR, part 46), HSRB membership must include at least five members with various backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research. At a minimum, one member must be an individual whose primary research is scientific, one member must be an individual whose research is non-scientific, and at least one member must have no affiliation with Roger Williams. Additional members should represent more than a single area or profession. As such, the Roger Williams University Human Subjects Review Board (HSRB) is currently composed of seven individuals (includes Chair) from the RWU faculty and one member from outside of the University. Membership beyond the mimimum requirement at RWU is a function of our diverse research community and is necessary to accommodate the amount of work associated with reviewing a considerable number of applications.

Responsibilities of the Chair

  • reviewing expedited and exempt proposals calling on one board member if there is a procedural issue with a proposal;
  • leading the process of developing and refining Board guidelines and processes;
  • communicating to the faculty changes in guidelines as well as meeting times and Board rulings;
  • scheduling and chairing meetings;
  • maintaining the information on the website;
  • notifying the CAO when new committee members need to be chosen; and,
  • maintaining HSRB records and archives.

The taking of minutes, including all rulings of the Board, shall occur at every meeting. The responsibility for this shall rotate among the Board members. Minutes and rulings shall be published on the website no later than 10 working days after the Board meeting, as consistent with RWU policy.


Judith Platania
Professor of Psychology and Graduate Program Director

Committee Members

Farbod Farhadi
Assistant Professor, Management

Benjamin McPheron
Associate Professor, Engineering

David Moskowitz
Associate Professor, Political Science

Amiee Shelton
Associate Professor, Public Relations

Melissa B. Russano
Professor, School of Justice Studies

Erin Tooley
Assistant Professor, Psychology

Ann G. Winfield
Associate Professor, Education

Paris Pavkovic, M.A. 
Affiliated Member

Andrew A. Workman

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs