Members

Membership

According to federal guidelines (45 CFR, part 46), HSRB membership must include at least five members with various backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research. At a minimum, one member must be an individual whose primary research is scientific, one member must be an individual whose research is non-scientific, and at least one member must have no affiliation with Roger Williams. Additional members should represent more than a single area or profession. As such, the Roger Williams University Human Subjects Review Board (HSRB) is currently composed of eight individuals (including Faculty Director) from the RWU faculty and one member from outside of the University. Membership beyond the minimum requirement at RWU is a function of our diverse research community and is necessary to accommodate the amount of work associated with reviewing a considerable number of applications.

Responsibilities of the Faculty Director

  • review and oversight of all research proposals submitted to HSRB;
  • lead the process of developing and refining Board guidelines and processes;
  • communicate to the faculty changes in guidelines as well as meeting times and Board rulings;
  • schedule and chair meetings;
  • maintain the information on the website; 
  • maintain all HSRB records and archives;
  • ensure University compliance is up-to-date at all levels.

Faculty Director

Judith Platania
Professor of Psychology and Graduate Program Director
401-254-5738
jplatania@rwu.edu

Committee Members

Selby Conrad
Assistant Professor, Psychology
401-254-5501
sconrad@rwu.edu

Farbod Farhadi
Assistant Professor, Management
401-254-5668
ffarhadi@rwu.edu

Kathleen Micken
Professor, Marketing
401-254-3139
kmicken@rwu.edu

David Moskowitz
Associate Professor, Political Science
401-254-5212
dmoskowitz@rwu.edu

Amiee Shelton
Professor, Public Relations
401-254-3277
ashelton@rwu.edu

Erin Tooley
Assistant Professor, Psychology
401-254-3506
etooley@rwu.edu

Ann G. Winfield
Associate Professor, Education
401-254-5667
awinfield@rwu.edu

Paris Pavkovic, M.A. 
Affiliated Member
parispav@gmail.com

Robert A. Cole
Acting Provost and Professor of Communications
401-254-3149
rcole@rwu.edu