Innovative Faculty

Innovation drives everything at Gabelli School, from providing experiential learning opportunities that prepare our students to thrive in a dynamic, global marketplace to the cutting-edge research conducted by our faculty.

We boast dozens of expert faculty members immersed in the latest research in their fields, and these are just a few examples of our innovative faculty:

  • Professor Susan Bosco has been active in exploring gender differences and success related to individuals and organizations. She shared her expert insight into topics on living and working in diverse cities, how diversity shapes economic growth and much more in “2016’s Most Diverse Cities in America.”
  • Professor Geraldo Matos is exploring what it means for brands to be “cool” as well as what marketing is all about in Cuba. In his recent study published in the Journal of Marketing Theory and Practice, he argued that there's more risk than reward to brand activism.
  • Professor Alex Knights is interested in CEO performance and characteristics of leadership such as narcissism, that may or may not make leaders more impactful.
  • Professor Michael Melton founded and leads the GSB student-investing program the Center for Advanced Financial Education (CAFE), which has consistently beat the performance of the Dow Jones every year for the last ten years. 
  • Dean Susan McTiernan is also a professor of management with a long history of research associated with the role of women in organizations and their representation among highest paid corporate executives and boards of directors. Her work has been featured in Businessweek and Crains New York Business, among other outletsDean McTiernan also investigates worldwide issues of gender diversity and equality through her role as co-chair of the nonprofit section on gender equity within the United Nations Principles for Responsible Education (PRME) initiative that is based at the UN in New York City. She recently earned the Patricia M. Flynn Distinguished Woman in Business Education Award from the Women Administrators in Management Education Affinity Group.