Faculty & Staff

The Department of Writing Studies, Rhetoric, and Composition houses an engaged faculty committed to student and lifelong learning. They and their students work toward writing expertise within the Core curriculum as well as the minor and core concentration in Professional and Public Writing.

  • Paul E. Bender

    Areas of Expertise: Rhetorical Theory; Professional Writing; Computers and Writing

  • Jennifer Campbell

    Areas of Expertise: First-year composition, Pedagogy, Public Rhetoric, Critical Discourse Analysis, American Literature, Western philosophy

  • Catherine Forsa

    Areas of Expertise: Professional and Technical Writing, Writing in the Disciplines, Writing across the Curriculum, First-Year Writing

  • Brian Hendrickson

    Areas of Expertise: writing across the curriculum and in the disciplines; writing program administration; engaged learning; language and literacy; genre; rhetorical theory

  • John M. Madritch

    Areas of Expertise: Composition Theory; Writing Program Administration; Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

  • Kate Mele

    Areas of Expertise: Academic Writing and Travel Writing

  • Nancy Nester

    Areas of Expertise: Public Rhetoric; Civic Engagement and Service Learning; Composition Studies; Utopian Studies

  • Christian Pulver

    Areas of Expertise: Information economies; history of literacy and rhetoric; composition pedagogy; Marxist cultural theory; visual rhetoric and design.

  • Dahliani Reynolds

    Areas of Expertise: Composition, Literacy, Pedagogy, Rhetoric, Multimodal Writing, Feminist Rhetorics

  • Mel A. Topf

    Areas of Expertise: Professional writing, including technical and legal writing; writing and political theory; state constitutional and legal history.

Adjunct Faculty